Zane Smith uses four-man move to claim COTA Truck victory

On a restart to start a second overtime, Kyle Busch led the way and Zane Smith – after a late spin – lined up sixth.

Entering Turn 3 with one lap to go, Stewart Friesen and Alex Bowman battled side by side for second place and the two pushed deep into the corner and into Busch.

As those three went deep, Smith dove inside to take the lead, then held off John Hunter Nemechek by 3.529 seconds on the final lap to take his second win of the 2022 season and fifth of his career. .

It is also the second straight COTA victory for the No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford team, which won this race a year ago with driver Todd Gilliland.

“Truck racing is crazy – you’re never out of it until you’re out of it,” Smith said. “What a statement from this team. It’s so crazy to win in a row on a road circuit like this.

“So many people to thank. It was wild but it’s never over until it’s over.

Busch was third, Ben Rhodes was fourth and Chandler Smith rounded out the top five.

Christian Eckes, Tyler Ankrum, Carson Hocevar, Friesen and Grant Finallyger round out the top 10.

Read also :

Step 3

After the break between Stages 2 and 3, several trucks from the lead lap elected to pit, but Busch stayed out and inherited the lead.

He led the way to the restart on lap 30, followed by Chandler Smith and Friesen.

Hailie Deegan’s truck stalled in Turn 8 on lap 30, prompting the race’s fifth caution.

The race resumed on lap 33 with Busch still ahead followed by Chandler Smith and Hocevar.

On Lap 34, Matt DiBenedetto’s truck stalled on the track with a broken transmission to bring out a warning. Kris Wright and Zane Smith also did tricks on this round.

When the race returned to green on Lap 36, Busch was trailed by Hocevar, Friesen, Parker Kligerman and Chandler Smith.

With five laps to go, Busch was working hard to keep Friesen at bay, with Bowman moving up to third.

With four to go, Bowman rounded Friesen and took second place.

With two laps remaining, NASCAR was forced to issue a warning when Matt Jaskol’s No. 46 stalled on the track, sending the race into two-lap overtime.

To start overtime, Busch stayed in front, followed by Bowman, Friesen, Kligerman and Nemechek.

Several trucks spun on the restart with Kaz Grala stuck in the gravel trap at Turn 6 forcing another caution and a second overtime. On the restart it was Busch, Bowman and Friesen.

2nd step

Zane Smith completed a two stage win sweep, holding off Rhodes to take the Stage 2 win.

Derek Kraus was third, Busch fourth and Chandler Smith rounded out the top five.

After the break between stages 1 and 2, the trucks that did not stop before the stage break did so with Zane Smith the first road out of the pits.

Busch stayed out and inherited the lead and led the way when the race returned to green on lap 15.

Dean Thompson swerved on Turn 8 and stalled, resulting in a warning on Lap 16.

The race resumed on lap 18 with Busch ahead followed by Kligerman and Bowman.

Nemechek moved up to second on lap 19, 1.5 seconds behind Busch, with Bowman third. On the next lap, Bowman rounded Nemechek to reclaim second place.

NASCAR issued a Lap 21 warning after the No. 88 Matt Crafton got stuck in the gravel pit at Turn 19 after contact with Chase Purdy.

Many first-lap trucks chose to ride with Bowman the first road out of the pits. Nemechek was among those who stayed out and paved the way for the restart on lap 23.

At the start of lap 24, Zane Smith spun Nemechek as the two battled for the lead, which left Smith in the lead.

Nemechek was penalized for an unchecked tire during his pitstop and had to serve a passing penalty.

Rhodes moved into second with two laps to go in the stage.

Step 1

Zane Smith held off a final lap charge from Friesen to take the Stage 1 victory, his first of the 2022 season.

Rhodes was third, Kraus fourth and Ankrum rounded out the top five.

Sheldon Creed started on pole but had to start the race from the back of the pack after his team had to make a fuel pump change. Bowman ended up leading the first lap.

Austin Wayne Self locked his brakes and wrecked on the first lap, but the race stayed green and he was able to continue. Taylor Gray also sustained damage in the incident.

Busch went inside Bowman just before the start of Lap 3 and took the lead.

With eight laps to go, Kligerman rounded Bowman to take second, 2.9 seconds behind Busch.

With three laps to go, several drivers opted to pit before the stage break, including Busch. That gave Kligerman the lead on lap 9.

Kligerman elected to stop on lap 9 which gave Zane Smith the lead on lap 10.